News Release

Texas Economic Development Council

For Immediate Release June 23, 2022

For more information contact:

Mr. Carlton Schwab
Texas Economic Development Council
(512) 480-8432

TEDC Announces Recipients of the 2022 Workforce Excellence Awards

 The Texas Economic Development Council (TEDC) has announced the recipients of our 2022 Workforce Excellence Awards. Six recipients have been awarded in their respective population categories. A total of seventeen nominees overall were recognized for their workforce projects. 

The Workforce Excellence Award program recognizes exceptional contributions by a Texas community or region that has implemented successful workforce initiatives. Members of the TEDC’s Workforce Development Committee reviewed and scored the applications from the nominees based on five criteria: innovativeness, transferability, community commitment and leverage, measured objectives, and secondary benefits. 

Communities nominated included: Population Less than 15,000 – Kilgore, Marble Falls, Sweetwater and Tomball; Population 15,001 to 40,000 – Kerr EDC and Seguin; Population 40,001 to 100,000 – Pflugerville and Wylie; Population 100,001 to 250,000 – Abilene, Amarillo, Brownsville and Mesquite; Population 250,001 and Above: Port Arthur, Laredo and Lubbock; Regional – Workforce Solutions Borderplex and Workforce Solutions Cameron. 

The 2022 Workforce Excellence Award recipients are: 

“Our TEDC’s Workforce Excellence Award is one of the ways in which our organization honors the outstanding work done by our communities and regions, their leaders, and their economic development professionals in the area of workforce development,” noted Carlton Schwab, President/CEO of the TEDC.” 

The TEDC was organized in 1961 and provides information, education and legislative services to its members to foster the expansion of existing businesses, the location of new firms and the development of strategies that promote a positive business climate in Texas. With over 900 members, the TEDC is the largest state economic development association in the nation.